Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國工商銀行股份有限公司

INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1398)

ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING APPROVALS GRANTED BY CHINESE, BRITISH AND SOUTH AFRICAN REGULATORS TO ACQUIRE EQUITY INTEREST IN STANDARD BANK PLC

Reference is made to the announcement dated 29 January 2014 issued by Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "Bank").

The Bank entered into a share purchase agreement (the "Share Purchase Agreement") on 29 January 2014, Beijing Time. Pursuant to the Share Purchase Agreement, the Bank agreed to acquire 60 per cent of the existing issued shares of Standard Bank Plc from Standard Bank London Holdings Limited ("SBLH") (the "Transaction"). Standard Bank Group Limited entered into the Share Purchase Agreement as the guarantor of the performance of SBLH's obligations.

The Transaction has been recently approved by the China Banking Regulatory Commission, the Prudential Regulation Authority of the United Kingdom and the South African Reserve Bank. Certain required procedures and conditions in connection with the Transaction remain to be fulfilled prior to the closing of the Transaction. A further announcement will be made by the Bank upon the formal closing of the Transaction.

The Board of Directors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

Beijing, PRC 10 December 2014

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. JIANG Jianqing, Mr. YI Huiman and Mr. LIU Lixian as executive directors, Ms. WANG Xiaoya, Ms. GE Rongrong, Mr. LI Jun, Mr. WANG Xiaolan and Mr. FU Zhongjun as non-executive directors, Mr. WONG Kwong Shing, Frank, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCARTHY, Mr. Kenneth Patrick CHUNG, Mr. OR Ching Fai, Mr. HONG Yongmiao and Mr. YI Xiqun as independent non-executive directors.