Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## 中國工商銀行股份有限公司

### INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1398)

## PROPOSED RE-ELECTION OF SUPERVISOR

The board of supervisors (the "Board of Supervisors") of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "Bank") announces that as the term of office of Ms. Wang Chixi, an existing Shareholder Supervisor of the Bank, will expire in October 2011, it was resolved at the meeting of the Board of Supervisors held on 25 August 2011 that Ms. Wang Chixi be nominated as a candidate for the post of Shareholder Supervisor of the Bank. The re-election of Ms. Wang Chixi will be proposed for consideration and approval at a shareholders' general meeting. A circular which includes, among other things, a notice of extraordinary general meeting will be despatched to shareholders as soon as practicable.

The biographical details of Ms. Wang Chixi is set out below:

Wang Chixi (王熾曦), female, PRC national, was born in August 1955. Ms. Wang has served as Supervisor of the Bank since October 2005. In 2003, she was appointed as full-time Supervisor (at the rank of Director-General) and General Manager of the Supervisory Board Office of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China as designated by the State Council. She joined Industrial and Commercial Bank of China in 2005. She had taken several positions including Deputy Director-General of the Financial Audit Department of the National Audit Office, Deputy Director-General of the Agricultural, Forestry and Sea Products Audit Bureau of the National Audit Office and was appointed as full-time Supervisor (at the rank of Director-General) and General Manager of the Board of Supervisors' Office of Agricultural Bank of China as designated by the State Council. She graduated from Shenyang Agricultural College, and is a PRC Certified Public Accountant (as a non-practising member).

Except as stated above, Ms. Wang Chixi has not held any other directorships in any listed companies in the last three years. Further, Ms. Wang Chixi does not have any relationship with any directors, senior management or substantial shareholders or controlling shareholders of the Bank, nor holds any interests in the shares of the Bank within the meaning of Part XV of the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Ordinance.

According to the Articles of Association of the Bank, the term of each supervisor is 3 years and supervisors are eligible for re-election upon completion of their term. Pursuant to the Articles of Association of the Bank, the remuneration of supervisors shall be determined by the shareholders' general meeting. Each year the compensation committee of the board of directors will propose a remuneration calculation plan for directors and supervisors of the Bank, which shall be submitted to the board of directors for consideration and is subject to approval by shareholders at a shareholders' general meeting. Details of the remuneration of the supervisors of the Bank is available in the Bank's annual report.

Save as disclosed herein, there are no other matters relating to the election of Ms. Wang Chixi that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank nor is there any information to be disclosed pursuant to any of the requirements of Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

# The Board of Supervisors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

### 25 August 2011

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. JIANG Jianqing, Mr. YANG Kaisheng, Ms. WANG Lili and Mr. LI Xiaopeng as executive directors, Mr. HUAN Huiwu, Mr. GAO Jianhong, Ms. LI Chunxiang, Mr. LI Jun, Mr. LI Xiwen and Mr. WEI Fusheng as non-executive directors, Mr. LEUNG Kam Chung, Antony, Mr. QIAN Yingyi, Mr. XU Shanda, Mr. WONG Kwong Shing, Frank, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCARTHY and Mr. Kenneth Patrick CHUNG as independent non-executive directors.