Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國工商銀行股份有限公司 INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED (a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1398)

ANNOUNCEMENT ON THE APPROVAL OF ISSUE OF SUBORDINATED BONDS

Reference is made to the announcement published on 26 September 2011, the shareholders circular dated 10 October 2011 and the announcement dated 29 November 2011 of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "**Bank**"). At the extraordinary general meeting of the Bank held on 29 November 2011, the issue of subordinated bonds in a total amount not exceeding RMB70 billion by the Bank by the end of 30 June 2012 was approved.

The Bank has recently received approvals from the China Banking Regulatory Commission entitled "Approval from the China Banking Regulatory Commission regarding the Issue of Subordinated Bonds by Industrial and Commercial Bank of China" and from the People's Bank of China entitled "Decision on Administrative Approval", pursuant to which approvals were granted to the Bank to issue subordinated bonds in an amount not exceeding RMB50 billion in the China national interbank bond market.

In relation to the issue of the subordinated bonds, the Bank will perform its information disclosure obligation in accordance with relevant regulatory requirements.

The Board of Directors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

Beijing, PRC 28 December 2011

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. JIANG Jianqing, Mr. YANG Kaisheng, Ms. WANG Lili and Mr. LI Xiaopeng as executive directors, Mr. HUAN Huiwu, Mr. GAO Jianhong, Ms. LI Chunxiang, Mr. LI Jun, Mr. LI Xiwen and Mr. WEI Fusheng as non-executive directors, Mr. LEUNG Kam Chung, Antony, Mr. QIAN Yingyi, Mr. XU Shanda, Mr. WONG Kwong Shing, Frank, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCARTHY and Mr. Kenneth Patrick CHUNG as independent nonexecutive directors.