Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國工商銀行股份有限公司 INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED (a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1398)

ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING APPROVAL GRANTED BY THE FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM TO ACQUIRE INTEREST IN THE BANK OF EAST ASIA (U.S.A.) NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

Reference is made to the announcement dated 23 January 2011 issued by Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "**Bank**").

On 10 May 2012, Beijing Time (9 May 2012, USA Eastern Daylight Saving Time), the Federal Reserve System formally approved the acquisition (the "Acquisition") by the Bank of 80% of the shares of The Bank of East Asia (U.S.A.) National Association ("BEA USA"). Previously, the approval from the China Banking Regulatory Commission for the Acquisition has already been obtained.

The Bank, The Bank of East Asia, Limited ("**BEA**") and East Asia Holding Company, Inc. ("**EAHC**", a wholly-owned subsidiary of BEA in the United States through which BEA holds 100% of the shares of BEA USA. BEA USA operates 13 branches in USA.) entered into the share sale agreement (the "**Share Sale Agreement**") on 21 January 2011. Pursuant to the Share Sale Agreement, the Bank shall acquire from EAHC 80% of the shares of BEA USA for approximately USD140 million. Upon completion of the Acquisition, BEA USA will be held, as to 80% by the Bank, and as to 20% by EAHC.

There are certain other procedures that will need to be performed in connection with the Acquisition. Further announcement will be made by the Bank upon completion of the Acquisition.

The Board of Directors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

Beijing, PRC 10 May 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. JIANG Jianqing, Mr. YANG Kaisheng, Ms. WANG Lili and Mr. LI Xiaopeng as executive directors, Mr. HUAN Huiwu, Ms. WANG Xiaoya, Ms. GE Rongrong, Mr. LI Jun, Mr. WANG Xiaolan and Mr. YAO Zhongli as non-executive directors, Mr. LEUNG Kam Chung, Antony, Mr. QIAN Yingyi, Mr. XU Shanda, Mr. WONG Kwong Shing, Frank, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCARTHY and Mr. Kenneth Patrick CHUNG as independent nonexecutive directors.