Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國工商銀行股份有限公司 INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED (a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 1398)

## ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING THE APPROVAL OF THE ACQUISITION OF EQUITY IN STANDARD BANK ARGENTINA BY THE CENTRAL BANK OF THE REPUBLIC OF ARGENTINA

Reference is made to the announcement dated 5 August 2011 issued by Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "**Bank**"). The Bank entered into a memorandum of agreement in relation to the purchase of 80% of the shares in each of Standard Bank Argentina S.A., Standard Investments S.A. Sociedad Gerente de Fondos Comunes de Inversión and Inversora Diagonal Sociedad Anónima with, inter alia, Standard Bank London Holdings Plc (now Standard Bank London Holdings Limited) ("SBL") and Holding W-S De Inversiones S.A. (together with SBL, the "Sellers"), and the Sellers' guarantors, Standard Bank Group Limited, members of the Sielecki Family and members of the Werthein Family.

On 8 November 2012, Argentina local time, the transaction was approved by the Central Bank of the Republic of Argentina. The transaction was previously approved by the China Banking Regulatory Commission.

Further announcement will be made by the Bank following the closing of the transaction.

## The Board of Directors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

Beijing, PRC 12 November 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. JIANG Jianqing, Mr. YANG Kaisheng, Ms. WANG Lili and Mr. LI Xiaopeng as executive directors, Mr. HUAN Huiwu, Ms. WANG Xiaoya, Ms. GE Rongrong, Mr. LI Jun, Mr. WANG Xiaolan and Mr. YAO Zhongli as non-executive directors, Mr. XU Shanda, Mr. WONG Kwong Shing, Frank, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCARTHY, Mr. Kenneth Patrick CHUNG, Mr. OR Ching Fai and Mr. HONG Yongmiao as independent nonexecutive directors.