Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

ICBC 😰 中国工商银行

中國工商銀行股份有限公司 INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL BANK OF CHINA LIMITED (a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 1398)

APPOINTMENT OF EMPLOYEE SUPERVISORS

On 24 July 2012, Mr. Zhang Wei and Mr. Li Mingtian have been elected as the Employee Supervisors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited (the "**Bank**") at the enlarged meeting of the Working Committee of the Trade Union of the Bank. Mr. Zhang Wei is an existing Employee Supervisor of the Bank being re-elected, and his term of office shall commence from 4 August 2012 for a term of three years. Mr. Li Mingtian took his office as Employee Supervisor of the Bank with effect from the date when he was elected at the enlarged meeting of the Working Committee of the Trade Union on 24 July 2012 for a term of three years.

Mr. Zhang Wei, Chinese nationality, was born in March 1962. Mr. Zhang has served as Employee Supervisor of the Bank since August 2006. He joined the Bank in 1994, and has served as General Manager of the Legal Affairs Department of the Bank since 2004. Currently, he is also an advising expert of the Post-doctoral Workstation of the Bank, Vice Chairman of the Banking Law Research Institute and an executive council member of the Securities Law Research Institute of China Law Society, a council member of China Society for Finance and Banking and Executive Deputy Director of Consumer Protection Committee of China Banking Association. He graduated from Peking University with a Doctorate degree in Law. Mr. Zhang has the title of research fellow.

Mr. Li Mingtian, Chinese nationality, was born in March 1956. Mr. Li joined the Bank in 1984, and he is currently the Deputy Secretary of the Party Discipline Committee of the Bank and Director of the Discipline Enforcement Department of the Bank. He served as Deputy Director of the Human Resources Department and Deputy General Manager of the Banking Department of the Bank between 1994 and 1998, and Vice President of Shaanxi Branch of the Bank between 1998 and 2001. He graduated from Hunan University of Finance and Economics with a Master degree in Economics. Mr. Li has the title of senior economist.

Except as stated above, none of the above Employee Supervisors has held any other directorships in any listed public companies in the last three years. Further, none of the above Employee Supervisors has any relationship with any directors, senior management, substantial shareholders or controlling shareholders of the Bank and none of them has any interests in the shares of the Bank within the meaning of Part XV of the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Mr. Zhang Wei and Mr. Li Mingtian, as Employee Supervisors of the Bank, will receive RMB50,000 (before tax) as annual allowance.

Save as disclosed herein, there are no other matters relating to the appointment of the above Employee Supervisors that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Bank nor is there any information to be disclosed pursuant to any of the requirements of Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

The board of supervisors of the Bank would like to express its welcome to Mr. Zhang Wei for serving successive term and Mr. Li Mingtian for joining the board of supervisors of the Bank.

The Board of Supervisors of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China Limited

Beijing, PRC 24 July 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the board of directors comprises Mr. JIANG Jianqing, Mr. YANG Kaisheng, Ms. WANG Lili and Mr. LI Xiaopeng as executive directors, Mr. HUAN Huiwu, Ms. WANG Xiaoya, Ms. GE Rongrong, Mr. LI Jun, Mr. WANG Xiaolan and Mr. YAO Zhongli as non-executive directors, Mr. QIAN Yingyi, Mr. XU Shanda, Mr. WONG Kwong Shing, Frank, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCARTHY, Mr. Kenneth Patrick CHUNG and Mr. OR Ching Fai as independent non-executive directors.